5k Three Days to Go !

Seventh staging of this even this Friday 11 May !

Over six hundred students and staff are expected to participate in the seventh school 5k road race (believed to be the only one of its kind in the country )This means that the race has now been held longer than any student has been in the school
The now traditional route is down the Bog Road as far as Marian Hill, turn right into Spa Street , around by the leisure centre , up Main Street and back to the school via Patrick Street .Hopefully the community will continue to turn out in their dozens if not hundreds to support the participants .
Guest of honour this year is John Sugrue , Laois Football Manager ( Physical trainer for Kerry 2007/8 who won the All Ireland in 2007 beating Cork and also county championship winner as player and a manager with South Kerry ) Invaluable technical assistance will once again be provided by St. Michaels Athletic Club .While there will be prizes for the first three across the line in the Junior and Senior boys and girls categories the emphasis is squarely on participation and fun .
Firm favourite ,Christopher Whittle will be going for a his fourth victory in his final year in the school Second Years Dualtaigh Unuvar ( 18 minute 5k race time in last week )and Eoin Worral ( third overall last year despite finishing with one shoe!)will be podium favorites also .Despite a massive haul of medals at recent Athletics meetings the girls race lacks a firm favorite The male teachers’ race meanwhile is wide open with previous perennial rivals , Christopher Booth and Conor Mitchell under pressure from amongst others Tom King , (with a 17 minute time to his name and fresh from the British Three Peaks Challenge along with Jason Aughney and Keith Bracken ) and Ronan and Martin Walsh can’t be overlooked either . With Fionnuala Cleary on maternity leave the teachers’ ladies race is even more wide open ( although she has threatened that she may turn up with a running pram !) Once again the question can be asked could the this be the first year a teacher arrives home overall winner ?”

Here are the 2013 winners Claire Faherty and Evan Clancy

Comments are closed.